2019 IMSA Rolex 24 Race Start

Fernando Alonso earned his first Rolex 24 crown Sunday after leading his No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi team to victory at Daytona International Speedway.

Alonso, a two-time Formula 1 champion, was joined by teammates Jordan Taylor, Renger van der Zande and Kamui Kobayashi and they took a clear lead right before the 22-hour mark, pulling away from No. 31 Action Express Racing’s Felix Nasr after he ran wide at Turn 1.
Fernando Alonso showed class with a stirring stint that saw him climb from fifth to first and pull a 21sec lead in the Rolex 24 at Daytona before a caution erased his advantage.
A 15-minute caution period caused by the #24 RLL BMW M8 GTE stopping in the pitlane exit 2h45m into the race brought everyone into the pits and shuffled the order in all the classes.

Initially Rene Rast’s #77 Mazda Team Joest RT24-P led the restart, holding off a very opportunistic Helio Castroneves who thrust his #7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 into second ahead of teammate Dane Cameron.

Behind this trio, Alonso in the Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R nibbled at the heels of Eric Curran in the similar #31 Action Express machine, as Harry Tincknell in sixth place was trying to return the #55 Mazda to prominence.